==============================  CFJ 1334  ==============================

    Ten Land Auctions began on December 11, 2001 using VEs as the
    Auction Currencies.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 root

Judge:                                  Steve
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by root:                         11 Dec 2001 23:42:30 GMT
Assigned to Steve:                      18 Dec 2001 23:16:58 GMT
Judged FALSE by Steve:                  21 Dec 2001 04:42:21 GMT

========================================================================

Judge Steve's Arguments:

Here's the issue as I understand it: Mapkeepor root announced eir intent
"to select a different Bank Currency for the upcoming Land Auction, with
2 Supporters" (1). Goethe and Crito offerred the required Support (2).
root then announced that the Land Auctions would be conducted using VEs
as the Auction Currency (3).

Concerning the conduct of Land Auctions, R2004/1 states that:

        * The Default Auction Currency shall be Indulgences; however,
          the Auctioneer may select a different Bank Currency with 2
          Supporters.

The question is whether, in seeking Support to hold Land Auctions in a
different Bank Currency, the Mapkeepor is required to specify which
Currency e intends use for the Auctions. If e is so required, then
root's announcement in (1) was insufficiently specific to be effective.

The only other guidance the Rules offer on this question comes from the
definition of Dependent Actions in R1728/9, where we are told that:

      A Player may, in a Public Forum, unambiguously describe a
      particular Dependent Action which e is authorised by the
      Rules to perform Dependently, and announce eir intent to
      perform it.

In light of this, the question becomes whether root's announcement
constitutes an unambiguous description of a particular Dependent Action.

My view is that it does not: root's announcement of eir Intent "to
select a different Bank Currency for the upcoming Land Auction[s]"
leaves it open as to whether this Currency would be Stems, VEs or
Papyri. In order to initiate the actual Auction, the Mapkeepor would
have to specify precisely which of these Currencies e intended to use
for the Auction (as root in fact did in (3), where e specified VEs as
the Auction Currency), and in my view it is this that corresponds to the
"particular Dependent Action which e is authorised to perform". R2004
is therefore to be interpreted as requiring the Mapkeepor to specify
which Currency e intends to use in conducting Land Auctions.

I therefore Judge that the Statement is FALSE.

========================================================================