==============================  CFJ 1444  ==============================

    A player cannot perform an action with 0 support.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 Maud
Barred:                                 Cecilius

Judge:                                  Peekee
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by Maud:                         02 Mar 2003 04:26:27 GMT
Assigned to Peekee:                     10 Mar 2003 06:41:56 GMT
Judged FALSE by Peekee:                 10 Mar 2003 08:20:58 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Linked to CFJ 1442

The phrase "performing an action with N support" has no natural
meaning, but the rules give a meaning to "performing an action with N
support, where N is a positive integer".  Hence performing an action
with N support is regulated.  The only method provided to perform an
action with N support requires that a player be authorised to perform
an action dependently; therefore, this method may not be used to
perform an action with 0 support.  Hence there is no method to perform
an action with 0 support, and so such actions may not be performed.

========================================================================

Judge Peekee's Arguments:

I reject this argument. Although I find that the rules do regulate actions
with N supporters, this is entirely dependant on given values of N. (see
Clarification A)  Thus, if N is not a positive integer then an action with N
support is not a dependant action due to the if and only if definition in
Rule 1728 "Dependent Actions".

I find that an action with 0 support is not regulated, and may be performed
if the requirement of 0 support is met. What does "with 0 support" mean? The
main reference here is game custom. It would appear that the commonly
assumed meaning is "with 0 support" is similar to a dependant action but
requires no support in the sense that it may be performed without the need
for any players to publicly post their support. I find that it is possible
to meet this requirement, and so a player can perform and action an action
with 0 support. As such, I find the statement FALSE.

Clarification A: For instance an action with SPOON supporters is not
regulated. I read the phrase in Rule 1728 as ,
"(An action is dependent, or may be performed dependently), if and only if
(it is an Action Without N Objections or an Action With N Supporters, where
N is a positive integer.)"

and not,

"[(An action is dependent, or may be performed dependently),  if and only if
(it is an Action Without N Objections or an Action With N Supporters)],
where N is a positive integer.

========================================================================