==============================  CFJ 1522  ==============================

    A Player may NOT draw two cards without fee by playing It's A
    Surprise, if eir hand size is above the maximum.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 G.
Barred:                                 Kolja

Judge:                                  root
Judgement:                              TRUE

========================================================================

History:

Called by G.:                           26 Oct 2004 16:34:38 GMT
Assigned to root:                       06 Nov 2004 18:49:09 GMT
Judged TRUE by root:                    10 Nov 2004 02:30:52 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Rule 2069 reads in part:
       A Gambler may Draw from The Deck for a Fee equal to the
       number of times that Gambler has previously Drawn from the
       Deck during the current month so long as the Gambler's Hand
       Size is smaller than the Maximum Hand Size.

Rule 2071 reads in part (for the It's a Surprise Exploit):
       Exploit: You may Draw two Cards without paying a Fee.

This specifically waives the fee for drawing, but does *not* seem
to waive the requirement of hand size being below the maximum.

========================================================================

Judge root's Arguments:

I find the Caller's Arguments to be correct, and I find no evidence
supporting the alternate interpretation.  In particular, I find that the
Exploit of the It's a Surprise card is worded so as to modify the Card
Drawing license granted by R2069 rather than to grant an additional Card
Drawing license.  Since the Exploit does not modify the Maximum Hand Size
requirement, it will still apply.  Thus I find CFJ 1522 to be TRUE.

========================================================================