==============================  CFJ 1959  ==============================

    If a player's voting limit on an Agoran decision reduces during that
    decision's voting period, then all votes that that player has
    already cast on that decision are still valid.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 ais523

Judge:                                  Machiavelli
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by ais523:                       20 May 2008 08:52:42 GMT
Assigned to Machiavelli:                21 May 2008 23:37:34 GMT
Judged FALSE by Machiavelli:            22 May 2008 00:06:33 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Rule 683/14 states, in part:
      Among the otherwise-valid votes on an Agoran decision, only the
      first N submitted by each entity are valid, where N is the
      entity's voting limit on that decision.  The voting limit of an
      entity that is not an eligible voter on an Agoran decision is
      zero.  The voting limit of an eligible voter on an Agoran
      decision is one, except where rules say otherwise.
This has the effect of reducing the number of potentially valid votes that a
player has on a decision to eir voting limit, which appears to be intended,
but does not explain what happens if such a voting limit changes. I can think
of ways in which the rule might be interpreted such that either the
invalidation happens at the instant of the vote (so that, for instance, a
player who enters the Chokey during an Agoran decision still has eir full
EVLOD of votes on it if e voted on it earlier; this would lead to judgements
of TRUE and FALSE respectively), or that the invalidation happens at the end
of the voting period (causing that hypothetical player to lose eir later votes
on that decision, but not eir earlier votes, leading to judgements of FALSE
and FALSE respectively). Also, it's not entirely obvious what happens if a
player's voting limit decreases and e has made multiple non-identical votes at
the same time. I suspect the answer to these CFJs are TRUE and FALSE
respectively, because rule 683 is mostly about the act of voting, but am not
sure.

========================================================================

Judge Machiavelli's Arguments:

Once again, I refer to the rule ais523 referenced in eir arguments:

     Among the otherwise-valid votes on an Agoran decision, only the
     first N submitted by each entity are valid, where N is the
     entity's voting limit on that decision. (683/14)

The key part, I suppose, is "are valid". Presumably, this means that
the validity of a vote can change over time, and the only time it
matters is when it matters. Since "the strength of an option is the
number of valid ballots selecting that option" (683/14), the strength
of an option can also change over time. Rule 955 uses strength of an
option to determine the outcome, when the decision is resolved;
therefore, the validity of a vote is evaluated when the decision is
resolved. Since the decision is resolved after the voting period ends,
what matters is the voting limit after the end of the voting period,
not at the time the votes were cast. Therefore, I judge FALSE.

For further evidence, rule 683/14 also states that a ballot is not
valid unless "the voter has not publicly retracted the ballot during
the voting period." Presumably, a voter does not retract a ballot at
the same time as e casts it; what matters is what happens later in the
voting period.

========================================================================