==============================  CFJ 2400  ==============================

    If a non-IADoP initiates an election decision via deputisation, e
    CAN resolve the decision immediately after its voting period ends,
    without announcing intent to deputise to resolve it.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 G.

Judge:                                  omd
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by G.:                           06 Mar 2009 16:50:06 GMT
Assigned to omd:                        07 Mar 2009 03:30:08 GMT
Judged FALSE by omd:                    13 Mar 2009 19:34:18 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Rule 208/7 says "Each Agoran decision has exactly one vote collector,
defaulting to the initiator of the decision.".

Rule 2154/20 says "the IADoP SHALL initiate an Agoran decision to determine
the new officeholder."

Rule 2160/3 says "Any player (a deputy) CAN perform an action as if e held
a particular office..."

So if an Agoran election decision is initiated via a deputization of IADoP,
is the "default" vote collector the officer defined as the specific Rules-
defined initiator (and thus the rules-defined default vote collector) for the
specific type of decision (the IADoP) or the actual initiator of the decision
(the deputy, perhaps the default for the particular instance of the type)?

========================================================================

Judge omd's Arguments:

On Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 11:30 PM, Ed Murphy <emurphy42@socal.rr.com> wrote:
> Caller's Arguments:
>
> Rule 208/7 says "Each Agoran decision has exactly one vote collector,
> defaulting to the initiator of the decision.".

To complete the quote:

      Each Agoran decision has exactly one vote collector, defaulting
      to the initiator of the decision.  If the vote collector is
      defined by reference to a position (or, in the default case, if
      the initiator was so defined), then the vote collector is the
      current holder of that position.

> Rule 2154/20 says "the IADoP SHALL initiate an Agoran decision to determine
> the new officeholder."

This defines the initiator by reference to a position, fitting the
parenthesized bit in Rule 208.

> Rule 2160/3 says "Any player (a deputy) CAN perform an action as if e held
> a particular office..."

Therefore, the situation is the same as if the deputy momentarily
gained the office of IADoP during deputisation, then immediately lost
it.  R208 dictates that the vote collector changes to the new holder
of the office-- nobody.  FALSE.  (If e waits a week then deputises to
resolve the decision, e pseudo-gains the office again, so e becomes
the vote collector and thus can resolve it.)

========================================================================