==============================  CFJ 2829  ==============================

    comex has a Leadership Token.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 omd

Judge:                                  Murphy
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by omd:                          12 Aug 2010 18:19:46 GMT
Assigned to Murphy:                     13 Aug 2010 08:54:30 GMT
Judged FALSE by Murphy:                 13 Aug 2010 09:22:42 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Does disappearing count as being destroyed?  If not, what is the
shuttle's position?

If it matters, the Shuttle reached the second wormhole while it was
impossible to destroy it (see previous CFJs).  The rules were then
amended to allow it to be destroyed.

========================================================================

Caller's Evidence:

Rule 2297:

                                        An object's position must be
      between 0 and the position of the second wormhole. Any object
      that finds itself outside of this area or on a wormhole is
      warped and disappears.

Rule 2299:

      If the Shuttle reaches the end of the journey and is warped,
      each player aboard the Shuttle is rewarded a farad. If the
      Shuttle is destroyed, the Enemy is rewarded a Leadership Token
      and can only initiate the next journey with three support
      (anyone else still only needs notice).

========================================================================

Judge Murphy's Arguments:

There are three possible interpretations, all leaning the same way:

  1) A warped object ceases to be In Space (perhaps it becomes
     In Hyperspace).  As this is backed by Rule 2297, it takes
     precedence over Rule 2298's claim that the shuttle (if any)
     is In Space, though it may only have effect for a moment
     (after which Rule 2298 forces it to re-appear at position 1).

  2) A warped object ceases to have a position.  This would cause
     Rule 2297 to contradict itself, so by Rule 2240 the later clause
     (in this case the result of warping) would take precedence,
     though it may only have effect for a moment (after which etc.).

  3) A warped object ceases to exist, but "destroyed" is a subset of
     ceasing-to-exist that depends on the rules specifying destruction
     rather than e.g. disappearance.

========================================================================