From owner-nomic-official@teleport.com  Sun Apr 21 14:07:53 1996
Received: from desiree.teleport.com (desiree.teleport.com [192.108.254.21]) by Shamino.quincy.edu (8.6.12/8.6.9) with ESMTP id OAA07949 for <blahedo@quincy.edu>; Sun, 21 Apr 1996 14:07:51 -0500
Received: from localhost (daemon@localhost) by desiree.teleport.com (8.7.5/8.7.3) with SMTP id MAA16126; Sun, 21 Apr 1996 12:06:04 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by desiree.teleport.com (bulk_mailer v1.3); Sun, 21 Apr 1996 12:06:00 -0700
Received: (from daemon@localhost) by desiree.teleport.com (8.7.5/8.7.3) id MAA16087 for nomic-official-outgoing; Sun, 21 Apr 1996 12:05:59 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from torii.triple-i.com (torii.triple-i.com [192.94.150.1]) by desiree.teleport.com (8.7.5/8.7.3) with SMTP id MAA15999 for <nomic-official@teleport.com>; Sun, 21 Apr 1996 12:05:53 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from siesta (siesta+.triple-i.com [192.94.150.7]) by torii.triple-i.com (8.6.9/8.6.9) with SMTP id MAA17278 for <nomic-official@teleport.com>; Sun, 21 Apr 1996 12:04:51 -0700
Received: from pak by siesta (4.1/SMI-4.1)
	id AA14481; Sun, 21 Apr 96 12:04:50 PDT
Date: Sun, 21 Apr 96 12:04:50 PDT
From: jlc@triple-i.com (Jeff Caruso)
Message-Id: <9604211904.AA14481@siesta>
Received: by pak (4.1/SMI-4.1)
	id AA07550; Sun, 21 Apr 96 12:04:50 PDT
To: nomic-official@teleport.com
Subject: OFF: Judgement of CFJ 867:  TRUE
Cc: jlc@triple-i.com
Sender: owner-nomic-official@teleport.com
Reply-To: nomic-discussion@teleport.com
Precedence: bulk
Status: RO

======================================================================
                     JUDGEMENT OF CFJ 867

    Rule 1597 should be interpreted such that, whenever a Rule
    directly requires a transfer of Currencies to take place,
    and when the transfer would result in the Treasury being
    transferred from containing a negative quantity of the
    Currency transferred, the transfer does not take place,
    unless the Rule requiring the transfer takes precedence over
    Rule 1597.

======================================================================

Declined:       Kelly
Judge:          Andre
Judgement:      TRUE

Caller:         Chuck
Barred:         
On Hold:        dcuman

Eligible:       Andre, elJefe, favor, Jtael, Michael, Morendil, Murphy,
                Narcisse, Oerjan, Steve, Swann, Vanyel, Zefram


Note:
  Kelly loses 2 points under Rule 1567.

======================================================================

History:
  Called by Chuck, Wed, 10 Apr 1996 11:57:04 -0500 (CDT)
  Assigned to Kelly, Wed, 10 Apr 96 11:23:16 PDT
  Declined by Kelly, Tue, 16 Apr 96 14:20:59 EST5
  Assigned to Andre, Wed, 17 Apr 96 06:28:28 PDT
  Judged TRUE by Andre, Sat, 20 Apr 96 10:48:42 METDST

======================================================================
List of Relevant Rules and Request for Injunction:

Relevant Rules: 1597, 1596

I request that the Judge enjoin the Rulekeepor to annotate
Rule 1597 with the statement of this CFJ.

======================================================================
Arguments:

First, let me apologize for the somewhat convoluted language of
the statement.  However, I wanted to mirror the relevant language
of Rules 1597 and 1596 as closely as possible.  Let me
paraphrase and elaborate on the statement a bit:

IF a Rule directly requires a Currency transfer, (as opposed to
  a non-Rule entity, granted authority by the Rules, requiring
  the transfer)
AND IF the transfer would result in the originating Treasury
  having a negative amount of a Currency,
AND UNLESS the Rule requiring the transfer takes precedence over
  Rule 1597,
THEN the transfer does not take place, by Rule 1597.

The central issue of this CFJ is whether Rule 1597 restricts
only those Currency transfers mandated by non-Rule entities
(as the title of Rule 1597 suggests), or whether it does
in fact restrict Currency transfers directly mandated
by the Rules as well.  I believe that it restricts
transfers directly mandated by the Rules as well as those
required by non-Rule entities.

I would remind the Judge that the title of a Rule is not
part of the Rule itself, and has no effect on the application
of the Rule. (Rule 1485)  Thus, the Judge should not be misled by the
title of Rule 1597.

The restrictions on Currency transfers in Rule 1597 apply to
those transfers which are required by "an Entity other than
a Player to which the Rules have granted the authority to
require Currency transfers."  The question then is: are
such entities non-Rule entities only, or do they include
Rules as well?

The first part is simple: a Rule is clearly "an Entity other
than a Player."

The next part is more difficult: "to which the Rules have granted
the authority to require Currency transfers."  Do the Rules
themselves fit such a definition?  I answer yes.  Although I
know of no formal ruling, the consensus on nomic-discussion
a few months ago (resulting from a different issue) was that
any Rule implicitly granted itself the authority to do whatever
it said it did.  But here I can make an even stronger case:
Rule 1596 explicitly grants other Rules the authority to
require Currency transfers!

Thus, a Rule is "an Entity other than a Player to which the Rules
have granted the authority to require Currency transfers," and
the restrictions on Currency transfers in Rule 1597 apply
to transfers directly mandated by the Rules.  Thus, if such
a transfer would cause the originating Treasury to go negative,
it does not take place (unless the Rule requiring the transfer
takes precedence over 1597).


======================================================================
Evidence:
1. Rule 1597
2. Rule 1596
3. Rule 1485 [excerpt]


Rule 1597/0 (Mutable, MI=1)
Currency Transfers Mandated by Non-Rule Entities

      Whenever an Entity other than a Player to which the Rules have
      granted the authority to require Currency transfers directly
      requires a transfer of Currencies to take place, the transfer
      takes place as required by that Entity, provided that:

      a) the transfer would not result in the Treasury being
         transferred from containing a negative quantity of the
         Currency transferred, and
      b) the transfer is otherwise permitted by the Rules.

      Such a transfer takes place at the time specified by the Entity
      which requires the transfer, or, if no time is specified, at the
      time when the Entity first begins to require the transfer.

      This Rule takes precedence over any Rule which would permit or
      require a transfer prohibited by this Rule.


Rule 1596/0 (Mutable, MI=1)
Currency Transfers Mandated by the Rules

      Whenever a Rule directly requires a transfer of Currencies to
      take place, the transfer takes place as required by that Rule,
      provided that the transfer is otherwise permitted by the Rules.

      Such a transfer takes place at the time specified in the Rule
      which requires the transfer, or, if no time is specified, at the
      time when the Rule first begins to require the transfer.


Rule 1485/4 (Mutable, MI=1) [excerpt]
Titles For Rules

      All Rules have a Title, which is a single line of text
      containing not more than 60 characters. The Title must be listed
      by the Rulekeepor along with the Rule. However, they are not
      part of the Rule itself and have no effect on the application of
      the Rule, being merely a convenience for the Players. Titles,
      once assigned, may not be altered except as specified in this
      and other Rules.




======================================================================
Decision of Judge Andre:  TRUE

In the case of CFJ 867 I issue a Judgement of TRUE.

In essence I agree with the Caller's Arguments. I will however try to restate
them in my own words, refining them where possible/necessary.

The first point to consider is whether a Rule can be 

     "an Entity other than a Player to which the Rules have
      granted the authority to require Currency transfers..."

In my opinion, yes it does. Which Rule exactly does the granting may be
unclear (is it the Rule itself? Rule 101? Rule 1596?), but fact is, a Rule
is granted to do so. And what could have done that granting other than the
Ruleset itself?

Looking at the Title of Rule 1597 ('Currency Transfers Mandated by Non-Rule
Entities'), this seems contradicting, but in a contradiction between the
text and the Title of a Rule, the text clearly takes precedence. Even
stronger: The Title has no meaning at all, as is clear from the
"no effect on the application of the Rule" in Rule 1485.

So Rules fall under the Game Entities that Rule 1597 talks about, so 1597
is applicable. Concluding the statement of the CFJ from the application of
Rule 1597 to Currencies is left as an exercise for the reader.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Injunction:

The Rulekeepor should annotate Rule 1597 with the statement of this CFJ.
Relevant Rules: 1596, 1597.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Andre