======================================================================
                               CFJ 893

"Casting the Frankenstein Monster has no effect."

======================================================================

Judge:       Oerjan

Judgement:   FALSE

Eligible:    Andre, Blob, Chuck, elJefe, favor, Harlequin, KoJen,
             Michael, Murphy, Oerjan, Steve, Swann, Vanyel, Zefram

Not eligible:
Caller:      n/a
Barred:      -
On hold:     Morendil

======================================================================

History:
  Called by Ross Morgan-Linial, Sat, 18 Jan 1997 12:16:54 +0000
  Assigned to Oerjan, Tue, 21 Jan 1997 11:48:04 +0000
  Judged FALSE, Thu, 23 Jan 1997 20:28:11 +0100 (MET)
  Published, Fri, 24 Jan 1997 15:10:03 +0000

======================================================================

Judgement: FALSE

Reasons and arguments:

Every time someone casts the Frankenstein Monster, I am amused. Thus,
it obviously has at least one effect.

======================================================================

(Caller's) Arguments:

There are many different meanings to the word "cast". One meaning is
as in cast a spell or Power, which obviously does not apply to this
case. A second is to throw; I don't know what effect, if any, throwing
Swann would have (other than to make em mad). A third definition, to
choose a person to fill a part, would seem to be applicable. However,
the Frankenstein Rule does not allow a specific person to be cast as
the Frankenstein Monster; it merely allows the Frankenstein Monster to
be cast, without saying what as, and a player to be named the
Believer, which has no bearing on the holder of the Office of
Frankenstein Monster. Since the rules do not define a way to change
the holder, Rule 1011 prohibits the Office from being shuffled around
in this way.

Evidence:
Here is the applicable paragraph of Rule 1671 (The Frankenstein Rule):

      A Player casts the Frankenstein Monstr by sending a message to
      the Public Forum clearly and unambiguously identifying the
      Player who is to be the Believer.

Here is rule 1011:

      A "Nomic Property" is any property of any entity which that
      entity possesses solely by the virtue of the Rules defining that
      property.

      No Nomic Property shall be changed except in accordance with
      procedures specified by the Rules.

======================================================================